OpenOffice questions & answers

Creates, manages and modifies documents and presentations
G
Question by Guest
264 views
3
A
Answer by Akash Shah

There is not enough information provided to determine whether OpenOffice is easier to use than OpenOffice 3.1.

Y
Question by Yana
538 views
3

How to create a resume in OpenOffice?

S
Answer by Sean Hill

Out of the package OpenOffice doesn't come with a resume template. But you don't need to create all the structure of a resume as long as there is a resume template available for download at OpenOffice's website. If you need a specific type of resume template, you can always access the website: http://www.hloom.com/download-professional-resume-templates/ which will give you a wide variety of resume template models to choose from.

Y
Question by Yana
553 views
3

How to change the page layout from Portrait to Landscape in OpenOffice?

S
Answer by Sean Hill

You can change it from Portrait to Lanscape using the Styles and Formatting Window (or press F11). Click on the Page Styles icon. Select Landscape from the list. In case it does not appear, the Default might be selected. Right click on Default and then select New. Choose the Page tab and change the page orientation to Lanscape using the radio button. Click Ok and the Style will appear in the page style selection menu. Select Landscape and that’s it.


For more information, access the website that deals with this question: https://wiki.openoffice.org/wiki/Documentation/FAQ/Writer/FormattingPagesAndDocuments/How_do_I_change_the_page_layout_from_Portrait_to_Landscape_for_an_entire_document%3F

A
Answer by Alex Urbach

You can password-protect your document only if you save them as ODT which is the default extension for the OpenOffice documents. Use the File > Save as then you need to check the password option and when you click the Save button, a password field will pop up asking you to set a password. You can hide your files using the built-in Windows feature.

G
Question by Guest
887 views
2

I have been using OpenOffice Writer for several years and have used it on the machine in question for almost two years. Tonight, the AutoCorrect function stopped working. Also, SpellCheck does not recognize anything as a misspelling. Both of these problems started tonight. Any suggestions?

A
Answer by Aiden McLeod

It is possible that you accidentally deactivated these functions. To activate/deactivate spell check function you can go to Tool > Spelling and Grammar or just simply press F7 from your keyboard. You should also see the Spelling and grammar and Spell Check icons on your toolbar. If you don't see them, right click on your toolbar and choose Customize toolbar then just search for these options on the list, select them then hit OK.

G
Question by Guest
733 views
3
D
Answer by denis lalande

how to uninstalled openoffice.ogr

D
Question by Diane M Christensen
697 views
3
Φ
Answer by φ

The Open Office Suite got an excellent help feature - press F1 and type "page numbers" and voilà!. You can insert the current page number anywhere you like (Insert > Fields > Page Number). If you insert it in a header (Format > Page ... > Header > Header On) or footer (Format > Page ... > Footer > Footer On) it will be repeated on every page.

J
Question by Jozef Miklavcic
655 views
3

When I'm trying to install the Sun Presentation Minimizer, I receive the following error:


Bad property node member in file:///C:/Users/Jo%C5%BEef%20Miklav%C4%8Di%C4%8D/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice.org/3/user/uno_packages/cache/registry/com.sun.star.comp.deployment.configuration.PackageRegistryBackend/ED70.tmp_/SunPresentationMinimizer.xcu

I can't install the extension. Can you help?

R
Answer by royer

This is Diagnose when I want to install Minimizer.
Error while installing extension Sun Presentation Minimizer. The error message is: bad property node member in file:///C:/Users/Jo%C5%BEef%20Miklav%C4%8Di%C4%8D/AppData/Roaming/OpenOffice.org/3/user/unopackages /cache/registry/com.sun.star.comp.deployment.configuration.PackageRegistryBackend/ED70.tmp/SunPrese ntationMinimizer.xcu
The extension will not be installed.

Guest #33772210
Question by Guest #33772210
562 views
2

After I've installed Open Office on my PC, it displays Russian language, so how can I change it into English?

A
Answer by Alex Urbach

You've probably downloaded a version of the package that was released in Russian language. To change to English, uninstall the current version from your computer and then visit the official website and select English as language and the correct operating system or download the language pack under the drop down menus.

Y
Question by Yana
549 views
3

What are the best extensions for OpenOffice?

S
Answer by Sean Hill

The best extensions can be acquired from the Extensions Store. You can reach it using the URL below. However, for OpenOffice application can install a dictionary, a PDF import tool, a spell checker, and optionally a clip-art gallery theme or a barcode generator.


Extensions Store: http://extensions.openoffice.org/


Access the page, then select the Most Popular to see what are the mostly used extensions for OpenOffice application.

See more questions & answers

Ask a question about OpenOffice

Alternative downloads

Microsoft Office OneNote
rating

Program that lets you manage your notes.

Doxillion Document Converter
Free
rating

Convert Documents, docx, doc, rtf, html, wpd, odt and more text documents.

Office Tab Center
rating

The tabbed interface allows you to open multiple documents in a single window.